To change or not to change, that is the question

Salaam folks!

I have a lot of ideas going around in my head, since I’m talking about bringing some change, let’s talk about that. I think we all feel like we owe our part to help induce positivity and happiness here in our world, right?

First off, and I know we all know this and probably think of it,too, but first off we have to bring the change in ourselves! What bothers me is that people will watch all kinds of inspirational videos where they listen with rapt attention to the speaker who tries to get the audience to stop something negative, then compliment him/her on the lecture, and then a few hours later – BAM –Β they’re doing the same thing!

I think we have more self control than that! Take one step at a time, but at least take it!

For example, I’ve been blessed to have some pretty cool parents Alhamdullilah and something I’ve always taken for granted about them is that they give people the benefit of the doubt. Since they’ve done that so consistently throughout my life, I do the same thing. I can’t judge people based on what I see because I believe they have their own side to the story. On the other hand, what I see on a regular basis outside my home is something that is disturbing. Why on earth are folks so quick to jump to conclusions? Why can’t we let each other justΒ be!

And when the inspirational video pops up, they’re nodding away like anything.

Take note : I am NOT saying I’m good or anything of the sort, I have my own faults, and being online prevents you from seeing them haha!

Anyway, what I mean is for people to start focusing on themselves! To be honest, it’s fun when you take up the challenge to change something, we all need a direction and goal right? It’s how we’re made, we need to strive towards some end. Well, now you will have some!

After you’ve started working on that, only then can you introduce it to society.

What I want to do (though I haven’t even got past the first step) is to leave a mark. To do something that gives instead of takes, to see the smile one puts on someone’s face by being generous to them. Install a water tap, help out with someone’s cleaning once in a while, etc. you get what I mean. Pray I get to do something too, put in my part for the world.

And something I’d like to tag in the end – spend some time with the older generation, the grandparents generation. Take walks, have a Ghalib night (my grand dad loves poetry, you can always switch Ghalib for something else!), just talk to them! The joy it gives them takes your breath away, and on a not so selfless note, you get to learn a lot too!

Peace!

39 thoughts on “To change or not to change, that is the question

        • Yeah it does sometimes. :/
          In sha Allah you won’t.
          Because you write well.Your posts make sense.The way you arrange your thoughts is very neat! It has a logical order,you don’t blabber.You aim for the target and you get there.MashaAllah.I need your reminders.
          People need posts like these to push them for doing something good or at least to keep doing the little good they can in the world that keeps trying to change their thoughts.
          Oh and I’ve really liked your poems.So I have expectations. Oka?
          You need to keep up to that. πŸ˜›
          Just kidding. XD You’re always great!

          Don’t let pencils and pens rust and don’t let that paper turn to dust.

          Oh wow I am so lame.But you get me hopefully? I’m just saying don’t quit writing. πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

        • Dude. I have no words for this man. That. Was. Wow.
          Wasn’t expecting it and oh my Lord that blew me away to be honest. Thanks man :’) I need people like you to reassure me that I’m not writing crap and that maybe I’m not bad with this stuff either πŸ™‚
          Thanks inky that meant so much to me yar πŸ™‚
          Stay blessed man. And you keep the picturing and writing going on too. Need the cute bloggers around πŸ˜‰

          Liked by 1 person

        • Heheh thank you. XD
          Welcome yar! :’)
          Oh yes no where near crap.But if you do want to make up some crap you can always ask me for help.Haha πŸ˜›
          Welcome again!
          Jazakillah khair for your prayers!
          In sha Allah.Pictures soon.I just need to pick good ones,don’t want to waste peoples time you know. :3
          Aha I saw that ‘cute’ there. πŸ˜›

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Your post is on point. I am wishing to change and focusing on improving myself. It is extremely hard to give up bad habbits though. But nothing is impossible in sh Allah.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve observed that negativity stems from insecurity. The people who judge others instantly are usually the ones who are afraid of being judged themselves. People who believe in themselves and are confident of their decisions usually give others second chances.
    Anyway, good post revels. Thought provoking as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for this tremendously beautiful reminder. You know, sometimes, it just takes a post to boost someone’s motivation. We get so caught up with ourselves in this dunya but forget others and our akhira. It might seem like it at first, but those we help are there to help our akhira. JazakiAllah khair.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! This is why it hurts to be so far from your (hard of hearing) grandparents. I miss them, and I can’t see them this year. They’re filled with inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

