A few words that went a long way

Okay Salaam everyone! I’m supposed to be working right now but sometimes you need a decent break (ignoring the fact that I’ve been on break for quite a while now). I’ll use this, though, to jot down some things I heard last week.

I went to this Islamic lecture, there were two absolutely amazing speakers there mashaAllah, didn’t let me even want to look away once through the whole seminar, I wanted to stay focused on all they said. They spoke on two different topics, unrelated to each other, but both of them had quite a strong impact – I speak for myself but I think the audience there would probably agree.

One of them talked about music for a while. His talk was about Jinns, but he wanted to tell us when jinns find us fragile enough to harm us, and music was one those weaknesses. He related his personal experiences with music and how he worked so hard on himself after realising that he shouldn’t listen to it. The way he explained it was rather interesting,

“So you’re listening to your favourite song, bobbing your head up and down to the hypnotic rhythm, right then imagine that a Shaytaan is right in front of you, nodding his head the same way as you, except he’s nodding his head with appreciation, he’s smiling at you and feeling good that he got you to pop on your headphones. And then, he’s waiting, just waiting for the opportune moment when you’re vulnerable enough and then he’ll dive into your weakened soul and wreak havoc.

Listening to music destroys the spiritual soul! You have to strengthen your Iman, your faith. Don’t let Shaytaan take advantage of you, he has been the enemy of not only you, but your father, your grandfather, your great grandfather, stretching up all the way to Adam (AS). You have been selected to be with Allah, then why opt for the weaker side?”

The way he portrayed that was slightly alarming. I’ve tried to stop listening to music (it’s been quite some time now, and that lecture only helped me alhamdullilah), and to be honest I feel at peace more than I used to. Music does snatch away a certain bliss, a certain happiness. It has more of an effect on us than we think. Especially how everyone listens to music! Men and women and girls and boys pray five times a day, fast regularly, read Quran, but stillย listen to musicย whenever they’re doing something that permits it. Like working on a project, or drawing, or if they’re bored. Music is so powerful it’s creepy. Honestly. Go search about it, not just Islam, even non Muslim people have accepted that music can be dangerous.

I wanted to write more about that lecture but I think this post is enough for itself. I might do another part highlighting something else that I heard. I wanted to highlight this because slowly people are forgetting how bad and unlawful music is. And that we need to keep our distance.

Take care of your Iman! (if you’re muslim :))

67 thoughts on “A few words that went a long way

  1. Smiles.. All of Allah is music.. Even science shows the earth and the sun sings as they dance and the origin of the Big Bang as forecast by the bible and Quran is music.. Only human twists and makes music and words evil like terrorists who kill in the name of Allah.. Allah’s greatest felt and known human force is the song and dance of the universe.. The real hell is to stop dancing and singing as when the sun and angels stop singing and dancing they will fall from the heaven.. Discordant music can bring one down.. Other music lifts spirit no less than planets.. Allah is almighty song and dance..:)

    Liked by 2 people

    • The way you represent the concept is truly enchanting Fred, but in Islam we have been told about the music that’s from man made instruments, not nature. Yes without a doubt nature is musical and Qur’an has a certain melody and both of them are divinely beautiful but there are certain types of music which are harmful and are not allowed for us to indulge in. If you read up you’ll see ๐Ÿ™‚ and I’ll be glad if you do.
      Thank you for your interesting comment ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      • Smiles my friend acoustic tools of musical instruments are simply extensions of the vocal chords that allow us to express emotional heart and spirit as emotion in mind and body balance.. To fear music as music is expression of emotion no less than human vocal chords is to fear both human and Allah instead oh Love.. Allah’s greatest song of emotion gifted to us.. Evil humans have been attempting to subjugate.. Oppress and repress emotions of humans for centuries as humans can be controlled better for greed in this weakened state of heart.. And science proves this now.. And allows some of us to awake to the truth and light of Allah and yes.. Song and dance too.. I serve no human.. Culture.. Or religion but Allah as truly evil humans who support fear.. And greed.. Will attempt to silence the song and dance of Allah and Allah’s free children.. And that’s what I know and feel.. My friend from facing Allah face to face and song and dance.. No human words reQuired.. Only music of Allah as truth and light and song and dance if Allah as same..:)

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on footprints in arabia and commented:
    Asalamualaikum! I haven’t been on here for a while but I have been reading several posts on different blogs, and I came across this one, and I think this blogger posted a beautiful reminder- a warning about listening to Music which is very common amongst Muslims today, May Allah protect us from this. Also if you would like to learn how music began from the time of Adam, Go on to the YouTube channel: The Merciful Servant and look up: The Story of Sheeth

    The post I reblogged is by: identity17
    โœจ ุฌุฒุงูƒ ุงู„ู„ู‡ ุฎูŠุฑุงู‹ โœจ ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„โ˜บ๏ธ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just today I was just like I want to read a post from Rev and SubhanAllah.Viola!
    First things first! Jazakillah khair for posting this! We really need these kind of reminder often,very often.
    This is because a video,a lecture,an article or a thought all the intensity of that good will to change and become better wears off soon,most times.
    I really like that you took the time share this and you penned it down perfectly in neat order.

    Everything is so true.We should be scared of music and one word which I think truly describes music is hypnotism! Creepy right? :/
    We should be in full control of our body and movements.We should not move with the strings of music.It really is dangerous already and then you talked about jinns which is just more creepy and should knock some sense into our tiny brains.
    Music these days is so common these days and I think you will agree that it is unfortunately spreading like an infectious disease!
    May Allah SWT guide us all.Ameen!
    Great post.Take care!

    Liked by 5 people

  4. Yes music meddles with your conscious mind and make it to work like sub-conscious mind.

    Sub-conscious mind basically accepts everything whereas the conscious brain only accepts those things which it finds right. So if some junk needs to be put into you then you just have to add music with it and you are going to accept it.

    May Allah save us from the harms of music and make our iman strong to leave it completely.

    Really great of you to have shared this. It’s really important and some people are really entangled in this sadly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww I will pray! It is tough, but only in the beginning I assure you. I’ve experienced it so I can say. The more you listen, the more you want to. But when you start to stop, slowly you feel this new peace engulfing you and that feeling is enough to convince you to leave it. And the best part is you don’t even miss listening to it anymore. You get addicted to this new found bliss, and this is a healthy addiction ๐Ÿ™‚
      I still have my weak moments so remember me in your prayers too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Aww this reminder is for everyone! Who doesn’t love music? But then that’s it isn’t it? That was what shaytaan said all those years ago – that he’d beautify for us what is actually wrong. So don’t despair because Allah is always there to help and forgive, all we have to do is take the first step and just watching with astonishment as Allah makes it easier for you ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 3 people

  5. Sister, I love this reminder so much! & all the comments were so interesting!
    It’s true, music is dangerous & we’ve all experienced that. There is always a good reason when Allah forbid us something alhamdoulillah.
    I struggled a long time to stop listening to it, because I loved dancing so much… At first. It’s not easy, but if you try harder, by listening more Quran or replacing music by Nasheeds without music (some of them are really good), you’ll see that a moment will come when you won’t care about music. I can assure you it works, sis! When. You feel like listening to a song, listen to a nasheed. Even in Urdu, some of them are great (& I don’t even understand urdu…) hahah I mean I know sometimes, we need to listen to songs when we feel strong emotions, but do we need music?? NO! We can listen to songs without music.
    Music is a real drug, at first it’s hard to forget it, but then, you don’t care living without it.
    Anyway, thank you for this reminder sister โค๏ธโค๏ธ
    May Allah bless you

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I think I am lucky alhamdolillah to not have much inclination for music and songs.I don’t even watch much tv ,I used to love songs n music during my teens n early twenties and even that time I didn’t like how I couldn’t stop a song playing in my head even when I was doing something else..music has such deep impact on our minds ..too much indulgence is bad and we should try not to get addicted to it ,we live in a world where we cannot escape it 100% so striking a balance is the key ! .

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Music is addicting I agree. I have an on and off relationship to it. It becomes easier to leave in Ramadan the whole 30 days because the shaitaan is locked up. But after Ramadan once I hit the city and uni, there is music everywhere that no matter how hard you try, you cannot shut it out. I avoid visiting the university cafeteria for this very reason because I hear a pop song and it gets stuck in my head. This was a beautiful reminder and I like how you conveyed the speaker’s message beautifully. Jazakallah revels

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: accidentallyinked

  9. You chose a very apt topic to write upon.
    This was so well depicting us the consequences of the love for music that we have and still convince ourselves of Allah’s mercy.
    Thanks for the reminder. Its a good thing to keep reminded as it always shall boost our Imaan.
    May Allah accept your deeds and mine and make them all good. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. In South Asia, Islam was introduced through the Sufis, via poetry and music. The azaan (Muslim call to prayer) is rhythmic for a reason; the human soul is attracted to rhythm. The Quran itself is written so that it is pleasing to the ear. When Muslims do zikhr, it is once again in the form of “singing”, making it a more spiritually cleansing activity.
    Music is a part of us, and as a practicing Muslim, I won’t be giving it up anytime soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well. That’s a whole other debate. Rhythm? Yes. Definitely there is rhythm. There is that everywhere, nature has a certain melody. When we recite the Qur’an, it has a musical note to it. But. The music that is spoken of here is not THAT. The music here are the irrelevant and pointless singing with musical instruments. Even poetry, when sung, should not be vulgar, even without music. So tell me brother, are you really ready to associate the melody of nature with what is considered music now? Sufism is another concept. It is not about that music which I mention here. I respect the sufis, but I cannot associate them with music of the kind I mention.
      Studying Islam, the music by proper musical instruments is not allowed due to deep reasons. And the music in Sufism is not religious, it is cultural. Hope I haven’t been too confusing.
      Thank you for your views!

      Like

      • I understand the difference between culture and religion; I mentioned that Islam was brought to the part of the world my family is from in the form of music and poetry thus, it can’t be all that evil. I think there is a radicalizing of Islam by certain clerics and we, as Muslims, will youtube and go to lectures, yet do not do any research for ourselves.
        Certain “scholars” will bash TV, technology, music etc without any reference to the Quran and we, as sheep, follow.
        I believe the music that is prohibited is music that will influence an individual to do bad things— death metal and the sort. But music, in general, is not haram.
        However, religion/faith is a personal journey, and it is not place to say what is right or wrong for anyone, but continue in my attempt to make myself better (and in my case, there are far more serious things to work on rather than worrying about if I am going to hell over listening to Adele).

        Liked by 1 person

        • Han I get what you’re saying. There is a moderate path yes. Islam was in a way introduced that way, but it was introduced without it too. I agree that we should do our own research, and I am glad you think that way too because we need more people who think outside the YouTube mullah “shariah”.
          It can’t be all that evil, yes, but don’t dwell into it too much because it has obvious evil sides too, but I’m quite sure you know of those. If you have a firm opinion after researching the matter, then do as you think right.
          It was interesting talking to you about this. I have jotted down what I think is right, but I cannot force them on anyone, nor do I want to. To each his own. And yeah faith is eventually everyone’s own. We shall face Allah individually, and so after reading up on everything, it is always our choice that matters at last. May Allah guide us all to whatever is better for us ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

