A glimpse

I don’t think men have any idea how women feel towards their parents, how deeply and sincerely they always think of their parents and how much love they have for them. This is a little glimpse. I know not every one has a very good relationship with their parents, heck sometimes I have problems, too, but in this dunya, everyone has those. But in spite of all that, there’s something there that lets a girl give all her heart to her parents, in a way that she could never to anyone else.

She’ll be the one to listen,
She’ll be the one to care,
When you’re listless and broken,
She’ll be the one to cheer!
Her whole heart she offers to you,
No conditions, no terms,
She’ll walk proudly knowing she’s got you,
Her confident stride a reflection,
It won’t matter to her what the world says,
It won’t matter she’s left out,
She’ll stay silent when you’re angry,
And jump on you when you’re stout!
She’ll leave it all when you say the word,
She’ll dampen her passions and her desires,
She’ll bear all the ridicule and cynicisms,
But she’ll drown when she hears them from you!
Even when she’s supposed to leave,
She’ll still worry and fret about you,
For your finger was the one she held first,
Your stride the one she tried to match,
Her energies are all sacrificed for you,
Her loyalty forever yours,
She’ll live for you till her last breath,
Even then, she’ll die for you.

67 thoughts on “A glimpse

  1. Smiles.. Nurturing is a gift from parents.. What is given is returned ten fold but only for those who can feel it as nurturing is an emotion that some cannot feel at all.. Typically these are the people who abhor babies.. Parents.. And women in a heart way.. Truly a potential cycle of love or hate starts when that finger is held or ignored for whatever reason smiles and mine was held often and still is..:)

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Hello! Mam! You’re extremely mistaken by your fantasy upon this. In simple words, you are wrong. 😖😋
    Men feel more than the women can. Daughters are sometimes selfish too with peeking into the privacy of their lives and their future too.
    Guys just have no issue with this. 😌

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m sure there are guys who feel more than girls do – indeed I’ve met some too. But a lot of guys tend to think of only themselves, ignoring the fact that they do have to look after their parents too.
      I completely agree there are women who do the wrong thing too. Of course, in this day and age it’s impossible to set stereotypes!
      Thank you for your comment and your thought! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Guess who is commenting again? Haha sorry I write a lot!
    This poem is so powerful, it almost made me cry. Not only because of my parents but because of my baby who is only able to tell me he loves me by holding my finger. That is why I just love so much your sentence “For your finger was the one she held first,”, wow this is amazing wallahi… ❤️❤️
    However, I noticed around me that boys are closer to their mum because they admire her and they want to marry a girl like her, whereas a lot of girls only think about marrying someone they love without wondering if he would be loved by her parents. Girls often put they feelings first. I know maybe it is not the majority and maybe I say this because that is what I sadly did, but alhamdoulillah I think it is all because of the parents, if they are close to their children from the beginning, their children (girls or boys) will always care about them insha’Allah.
    But when a girl marry and have children, I think she can be closer to her mum than ever.
    Anyway, barak’Allah feeki for those beautiful words my sweet sister.
    May Allah bless you and bless your family ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha I love your comments! Always full of life 🙂
      Aww I can’t believe it affected you so!
      Umm yes I’m quite sure boys are closer too and they do tend to express themselves a lot, I completely agree that girls aren’t always like that. I just wanted to write that down 🙂
      I suppose yes we can’t really stereotype people, there are girls who don’t give a care to what their parents want and then there are the ones who’ll be ready to sacrifice themselves for them. Similarly, there are boys who tend to get annoyed of the fact that their parents are depend on them but at the same time there are boys who are ready to fight the world for them!
      Thank you for sharing your views, what you said about your son was adorable 🙂
      May you be blessed forever too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree with everything 🙂
        but don’t worry, you didn’t make stereotypes, you only took a little part of the story to tell it to us, I guess that’s what poets do, right? And I lust say you told the story nicely and you expressed the feelings very well, as always!
        Why can’t I never stop to answer to you? Haha I guess you are too interesting!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my. This is exactly how I feel for my parents. “She’ll bear all the ridicule and cynicisms, But she’ll drown when she hears them from you!” I’ve always said that there is no ones judgment other than Allah’s that I value other than my mother’s. Beautifully expressed!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes I am very lucky to have such a deep relationship. I suppose as we grow older we tend to meet them less, but I know your mum probably still loves you to bits too! Maybe she just can’t express it that way!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think my parents do love me, it’s just a shame they are so passive about it. I am never having kids, but if I had them, I would definitely phone them up sometimes at the very least. Like I said to my mum on more than one occasion, if I died, as I live on my own no one know. I do have my own flat in a shared house, but I barely see my housemates in passing. My mum agreed.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Aww I’m a passive person myself when it comes to emotions but I suppose I’ll have to work on that!
          I feel awful about what you say 😦 I can only pray that your parents see how you’re feeling and make the effort!
          Maybe if you went on a little holiday over to your parents and kind of tried to make them open themselves through a little thing or a talk, maybe as they grow older too they’ll soften up especially if you gave them that time now?

          Liked by 1 person

        • I go to spend every Christmas with them. My dad checks how I am on Facebook – he would rather do that than contact me. My FB page is open. This is better than it was before, because before FB, I would have to contact them, rather than them contact me. Very rarely do they ever contact me. If someone is dying/dead they may, or occasional to say thank you for presents I bought them – they bought me a new net curtain the other day, because my flat’s had holes in it and my landlord hadn’t yet replaced it – but they were more worried about that and the way it looked than any emotional difficulties I was having at the time. I now have a 6 figure author as my friend on FB, something that is a great achievement for me and when I went to see my parents recently and told then this, they ignored what I said and started talking about biscuits – I will never change my parents so don’t try to anymore. In my Break Through The Barriers Of Redundancy To Get Back Into Work – An A-Z ‘How To’ Guide, which is my book that is available to buy on Amazon Kindle, I talk a but my own redundancy success story. About how my parents did not believe in my skills and abilities to become a writer and self-employed business woman, and I had to believe in myself 100%, despite what they said, that I could and now I am. I learnt I could not change them, what they think, or say, just how I react to it. They are very different to me.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Although what you say is some very hard stuff to go through, I admire your strength. You still did well! You didn’t let yourself go into what they thought of you, you proved yourself. And yes your feelings are more important than the curtain, but I suppose you’ll have to cling onto that. You are successful in your own life, and I pray you might be successful there too since that’s all I can do 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Hi Revels, thank you. This year my parents started to believe in my abilities, so it’s taken 6 years + for them to change themselves in that respect. It was actually getting my book published that made the difference, because I did it. I am not going to change the other stuff. I phoned my mum twice today. One of her dogs is a big poorly so I wanted to check how it got on at the vets when I phoned my mum earlier. It’s tough they don’t phone me, but life’s too short for both me and them to be like that, and yeah! I am a strong self-contained unit.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Very well written! I guess the way we daughters can relate to emotions and needs of our parents is quite different from that of a son. But nevertheless, its not the same for our parents as they love their children equally . daughters are indeed one of a kind.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. May I say Again that I LOVE too much the sentence “for she was the one who held your hand first” ? Sister, I don’t say this to be kind but really, this sentence has been resounding in my head since I read it so I came back to read this wonderful poem again..
    Thank you ❤️
    Ps: can’t wait for new poems 😉
    May Allah bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I couldn’t agree more with you, the amount of love and affection I have for them in my heart seems to be limitless, sometimes I look at them and it makes me cry, I don’t even know why. I wish I could bring them all the happiness in the world. Your poem struck a chord in my heart, so beautifully expressed 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I know! I feel that way too, in our ways we express ourselves! I love how you put it there, literally it just got to me too 🙂
      I’m so glad you liked it, thanks for reading!

      Like

    • Oh I’m great Alhamdulillah thank you for asking dearest 😀 I’ve just been VERY busy and I know I should post something but as soon as I get the time! Insha Allah I will try to appear before you all this weekend, but I am well and happy 😊 Aww I love you so much for asking may Allah keep you happy and blessed for ever ☺I havent even had the chance to read other blogs! I so want to but then you know sometimes life just gets so busy 😕

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful poem sis, I could relate to it, especially this part ” She’ll bear all the ridicule and cynicisms,
    But she’ll drown when she hears them from you!” it brings me great joy making my parents happy, I just pray that I can always do this.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

