Death is scary, not because we’re dying

Death is eternal union,
But also losing control of your worldly dominion,
Death is the ultimate return,
The abode of our souls’ divine yearn,
It’s the divide between this world and the next,
It comes as sudden as the ping of a text,
And we don’t know,
Where we’ll go,
But what happens behind?
How does one soothe the devastated mind?
One moment you’re here, the other moment you won’t be here anymore,
Leaving three when they used to be four,
It’s a sad state, but who are we to say,
Whatever Allah deems best is His way,
It takes time to let it settle in,
They won’t be seeing his coming home grin
Ever again. It’s a sad state,
But who are we to debate,
For him whose gone, it’s all over,
He might have found his four leafed clover,
He’s left, he’s broken through this place,
And all they have is a picture of his friendly face,
Death is scary, not because it involves dying,
It’s scary when you hear all that silent crying,
Death is somewhat a confusion,
A time with a void as a conclusion,
And where it’s true we’ll all die,
I worry about that silent cry.

28 thoughts on “Death is scary, not because we’re dying

  1. Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji’oon. May Allah سبحانه و تعالى forgive his sins and grant him Jannatul Firdous and grant his family sabr. Ameen.
    Jazak Allah khair for writing this. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow sister, this poem is so powerful…
    You know how to find the words to make us feel what you feel masha’Allah
    Okay, i don’t understand every word of your poetry since I’m not fluent in english but since I love poetry so much, I try my best to understand. Anyway, I know I love a poem when I fall in love with the sound of words, so the signification is not the only thing. And here I can say I am in love. Specially with your last two sentences. Beautiful! ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you so much for your beautiful words! :’) they made me feel so humbled and happy you have no idea how glad I am to read that from you 🙂
      The way you put that, I feel like crying at your beautiful appreciation 🙂
      Haha it’s okay if you don’t understand some of it, poetry is something that the heart understands even if the mind can’t digest the foreign language. It’s how minds meet to know how they have more people like themselves out there, it’s an amazing thing.
      Jazakallah for reading and saying such amazing things about my poetry. Never before have I felt so happy about this 🙂
      In love? Haha… if my poetry had the power to do that to you, then Allah has truly done something great 🙂
      Have a lovely day!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. No, please don’t cry! Haha you are so sweet!
    Be proud of you because you write so well. I have so much to read on your blog since I just discovered it, sorry for the long time to answer but I have a baby and it’s a full time job 😉
    Anyway, it’s beautiful what you wrote about poetry, it’s poetic… I totally agree. A writer said “poetry is to find beauty in everything” and I think that is why us who love to write, we understand each other so well, we have the same soul & the same sensibility.
    As you said my sister, we should be grateful to Allah for this blessing of meeting people with similar poetic soul.
    May Allah protect you ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha okay 🙂 Aww your baby must be a darling don’t apologise for umm.. her/him 😛
      Wow thank you so much for sharing that beautiful quote! And you have no idea how happy it makes me each time I meet another poetic soul 🙂
      May Allah bless you for being the adorable person you are and may He make life easier for you here and jannah tul firdous in the hereafter 🙂

      Like

  4. Thank you sister, I must say my son is so cute masha’Allah Haha
    I’m happy as well to meet you and your beautiful soul sister ❤️
    Ameen a thousand times to this amazing du3a. Even your du3as are poetic subhan’Allah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

