Tell me, how do you get bored?

This isn’t one of my really good poems I think, but it’s something I feel deeply. Kids these days seem to be bored all the time! Why? Why is it that even when I tell them things to do they find excuses to think those things are boring too? Maybe I should ask a child psychologist.

I’m bored,
Go read a book,
I’ve already read two chapters,
Go read some more,
*Aggressively shakes head* No!
Then go play outside,
It’s too hot!
Play with your toys then, that new thing granny got you,
But I have no one to play with!
Can’t I just watch TV?
But you’ve been watching all day!
Well, I’m bored, bored, BORED.

You’re bored?
Yes.
Let me tell you a story,
A story where I am a little kid,
Where, yes, I watched TV,
I had my share of Pokemon and Yu-gi-oh,
Of Duel Masters and Sonic the Hedgehog,
But I still played in the heat,
I would challenge myself to football,
I would soak myself in rain puddles,
Climbing trees though sweating buckets,
All those insects trapped!
And I would never stop at two chapters!
I had the Famous Five, Laura Ingalls’ prairie house,
I had Mary Poppins, the Wizard of Oz,
I had Harry Potter, the Psammead.
And thankfully we only had boring flip Motorolas,
The eternal Nokias with only the one ball game,
I sound really old when I’m not even twenty,
But times have changed so fast, and they’re changing still,
I miss that slow internet dialer,
I miss making cards ourselves for everyone on Eid,
I miss those imagination worlds where it all seemed so real,
That PS2 with all those tangled wires.
But you know what?
I was never bored,
I made do with anything,
So even today I make the most of what I have,
You have everything you want, to what use?
Bored is a feeling I am not familiar with,
So, kid, instead of complaining and crying,
Think! Use that creative mind!
No electronics, you’ll still be fine,
Come out of your cocoon,
Come see the world,
And tell me then, how do you get bored?

13 thoughts on “Tell me, how do you get bored?

  1. I remember my Motorola Razr – it was my first phone πŸ™‚

    Duel masters and Pokemon are still love. I still watch their movies πŸ˜€
    PS2 i still remember, that was the biggest gift i got in my childhood. πŸ™‚

    and yes we all get bored at times. Bored because i find myself at peace in the loneliness and when there is nothing to do – i just have to try being myself.

    (Sorry if you hate me commenting this long – haha)

    Liked by 1 person

    • No I don’t dislike long comments, comment away!
      But it’s a relatable post I see πŸ™‚
      I’ve never seen their movies though I was crazy about them.
      Being bored sometimes is okay and normal but kids these days seem to be bored all the time. It’s plain nonsense.

      Like

  2. I understand your frustration lol πŸ˜‚. I’ve had to babysit my neighbor’s kid on many occasions. We can’t blame the kids though. It’s the upbringing that matters. Allah knows best.
    Anyway, lovely post! πŸ’— Brought back childhood memories. We used to play so many games like tag, hide and seek, truth or dare and even board games lol 😊.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

