I couldn’t have Ramadan and not post something Ramadanish!

I have an interesting post about Ramadan coming up soon, something I found very relevant. And something not common knowledge. But, for now it’s just a poem.

Sometimes I wish Ramadan could last forever
Who cares if we’d have to fast forever
That emptiness, that void finally filled
People generally more calm and chilled
That spirituality
Sacred mentality
No food? No water?
Shaytaan’s slaughter!
We’re not material beings, in a spiritual world,
We’re spiritual beings, in a material world!
The way Allah seems to be sitting beside me
The way we see Jannah’s key
Everything seems so easy.

But when I eat and drink for suhoor and iftar
And go places in my air conditioned car
I think, maybe I should have more realization, feeling
And I need to work more towards global healing
But that’s what this month calls for eventually
To try and make all that vice and despair flee
People say it’s a long shot
But how else do we end the rot?
Oh Muslims, answer your hearts
Scrub those dingy old carts
I see that tiny starved boy
And bruised girl, all part of a ploy
A half played with, half torn toy.

“We’re not material beings in a spiritual world, we’re spiritual beings in a material world.” I don’t remember who said this.

4 thoughts on “I couldn’t have Ramadan and not post something Ramadanish!

Leave a Reply

